top of page

FASHION REVOLUTION 0.1

If you follow a long on Instagram, you may know that I have been supporting Fashion Revolution Week. This particular week is the anniversary of the Rana factor collapse in Bangladesh in 2013, and for many it is a dedicated period in which we ask designers and labels the very important question of "who made my clothes".

There are many issues and concerns associated with how our clothing is made and it can appear to be too big a problem to know where to start. For me, it wasn't to difficult to identify the issue that resonated the most with me so that is where I have started. The rights of the workers, their fair treatment a living wage and safe and suitable working conditions.

I am grateful that I live where I do, and that my human rights are not violated. My work place is frequently assessed for occupation health and safety, my salary is commensurate with my skills and experience and my views, requests and suggestions are welcomed and heard with respect. In the light of this it has become increasingly important to me that the people who make my clothes are treated and respected as I am.

So with that in mind, this week, I asked 5 of my favourite designers/design groups 'Who Made My Clothes". In this post we will look at what I learnt from the two of them.

Shortlist Shop Tracey Van Ingen is the designer behind Shortlist Shop and has a gorgeous boutique in Geelong, along with her online store. Shortlist Shop produce their Australian designs in Bali. Tracey says she chose Bali because the industry there is small and localised. She works with a beautiful woman named Kadek who is her manufacturer. Kadek runs her small production business out of her family home and has established a successful business in a country where women with children are not encouraged to pursue a career. Tracey travels to Bali about 4 times a year and over time has built a relationship with Kadek, and her family, that is based on mutual respect, trust, drive, passion and most importantly, friendship.

Shortlist Shop also takes a back seat when it comes to fast fashion. They produce an Essentials range that may vary a little from time to time but are available all year round and can form a brilliant foundation for your wardrobe. Then there is the Artisan Collection which includes beautiful silk items and jackets that work in beautifully with the essentials. Each season a few new items are added. The designs are modern but most are quite timeless, suiting women of all ages and stages and have longevity in the wardrobe.

The Kimono Jacket (Splotch Print Kimono) that I am wearing is a favourite and high rotation at the moment. It works through the warm weather with a light layer underneath, and works like a light jacket in Autumn/Winter with warm layers underneath. Mine is probably 8 months old, however it is still available on line. The fact that Tracey is not producing new items each week, means you can stop, breath, and take time to consider what you might like to add to your closet, without feeling like you are in a whirlwind trying to 'keep up' with all the new items.

Vigorella This is a beautiful Australian brand who produce 'layers for life'. Creative Director, Jenny Zeuscher, has worked hard to keep their production local with the label being designed and manufactured in Melbourne (Australia) since 2004. Jenny says "our footprint is important and we value and pride ourselves on this year in, year out". The designs are created to be worn with ease and transcend trend and age.

Necklace and Custom Made Earrings / House of Poly

Both the Asymmetrical Top and Dropped Crotch Pant are currently available. The pants from the previous season and the top new for Autumn. Another label that eschews fast fashion by listening to their customers and slowly adding a few new designs each season. The quality of the garments and the fabrics is just beautiful, and as with Shortlist Shop, longevity is the name of the game. These designs can be part of your wardrobe for a very long time.

Vigorella and Shortlist Shop are just two of many amazing labels with a commitment to ethical production. What I haven't yet mentioned is that both are also very affordable for those of us (most of us) who are budget conscious. I would love to know what you think. Are these labels new to you? Is ethical fashion a consideration in your purchasing. Let's chat! Later in the week, I will share the three other designers I featured.

Thanks for dropping by.

xxx Deborah


bottom of page